From the Principal’s Desk – Oct 20, 2011

On Tuesday, October 25th Swansea will be hosting a delegation of educators from the Netherlands.  The purpose of this visit is to learn about our approach to bilingual learning and teaching. They will be touring the school and visiting some classrooms.

Extended French

Applications for 2012-2013 Grade 4 Extended French program will open on Monday, November 14, 2011.  Parents can register their grade 3 child at https://secure.tdsb.on.ca/pars/(S(h3j5tovvomhciofzs0yea155))/public/welcome.aspx

An information night is scheduled for Tuesday, November 15th at 7:00 pm in the Music Room.  Flyers will be send home in November with all grade 3 students.

Information about the Late Entry (Grade 7) program will be available in January, 2012.

Music Concert Dates

The music concert dates have been set for this year.  Ms. West will be providing more information to the participating students and families closer to each date.

Winter Concert (Hopes and Dreams) – December 6 – 7:30 pm – Windermere United Church
Primary Concert – Thursday, December 15 – 5:00 pm
Senior Concert – Tuesday, March 6 – 6:30 pm
Spring Concert – Tuesday, April 17 – 7:30 pm
Junior Concert – Wednesday, May 2 – 5:30 pm
Upper Canada Choristers Concert – Friday, May 4
Kindergarten Concerts – to be announced later

Volunteer Police Checks

At Swansea we value the contribution of our volunteer parents.  Regulations require that parents who volunteer on a regular basis in our school must have a valid police reference check.  Last year we processed many of these reference checks, and these need to be updated annually.  The process is REALLY EASY.  You drop by the school office and either the P or VP can do this on-line for you.  Caution – if you let this lapse you will have to re-apply at a cost of $16.95.  Thanks for all you do to support Swansea PS.

Upcoming Dates

Thursday, October 20 – 6:30 pm – Grade 8 Grad Committee meeting
Tuesday, October 25 – Pizza Day
Tuesday, October 25 – Grade 8 – 9 Information Night – Parkdale PS
Monday, October 31 – 12:45 pm – Halloween Parade
Thursday, November 3 – MS Read-a-thon – more details to follow next week
Monday, November 14 – Progress Reports home
Thursday, November 17/Friday, November 18 – Parent-Teacher Interviews

Comments are closed.